Company profile of Längengrad Filmproduktion GmbH

Our aim is to tell stories - stories that inform and educate, that connect disparate facts and give pause for thought, that move people and sometimes shake them - and therefore entertain them in the best sense of the word. Our films are characterised by topics that matter, presented through impressive pictures and lavish editing. We devote as much effort and attention to thorough and investigative research as we do to compelling visual and dramatic interpretation. Why? Because we are convinced that even in times of ratings pressure well-made films of superior journalistic quality will attract large audiences. This is what we set out to do, with a dedicated team of experienced writers, directors, camera operators and film editors.

Whether it's about Alzheimer's research or the race for raw materials in the ocean depths, we always approach our topics from an international perspective. We aim to expand horizons and pose critical questions. We are equally concerned with the latest scientific findings as we are with the underlying economic and political interests. Organised environmental crime, gigantic dam projects or climate change - what drives us is shedding an accurate light on the state of our planet and, even more importantly, showing ways out of the present plight. Whether it's giving a hearing to the victims of the massacre in Beijing's Tiananmen Square or the representatives of a new peace movement in the USA - we are committed to tackling the complex issues of the past and addressing the issues vital for the future. At the same time, we have never lost our feeling for what's truly extraordinary or adventurous - whether it be the unknown treasures in the Egyptian Museum in Cairo or the first daring space travellers. And human beings always form the focus of our films - with their hopes and fears, their sense of responsibility and inventiveness, their conflicts and visions.

The principal clients for our television productions are the public broadcasting corporations in Germany. Increasingly, our films are produced in cooperation with international broadcasting organisations and European film funds. The choice of topics and style of our films appeals to a global audience - all our documentaries are distributed internationally and presented at many prestigious film festivals.

We have three post production suites (run by Gizmo-Postproduktion) available at our Cologne premises. And of course we use camera equipment of the most modern technical standard, and elaborate lighting and technical equipment as well as state-of-the-art animation.
Founded in July 2005

Managing Directors:

Thomas Weidenbach
Sarah Zierul

Our Team:

Isabelle Albert
Steffen Bohn
Maximilian Dederichs
Michael R. Gärtner
Dr. Rüdiger Heimlich
Meike Hemschemeier
Michael Kern
Huynh-Trang Lam
Dr. Thomas Liesen
Shi Ming
Daniel Münter
Dr. Frank Nischk
Herbert Ostwald
Claudia Ruby
Jan Wilm Schmülling
Marc Schubert
Katja Sträter
Dr. Ismeni Walter
Lars Westermann

Registered Office:

Cologne

Contact us at:

Längengrad Filmproduktion GmbH

Händelstraße 25-29
50674 Cologne
Germany
T+49(0)221.788767-0
F+49(0)221.788767-20
Info(at)Laengengrad.de

Über Uns

Wir wollen Geschichten erzählen, die bilden und aufklären, Zusammenhänge erhellen und zum Nachdenken anregen, bewegen und manchmal auch aufregen - und damit im besten Sinne unterhalten. Unsere Filme zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass sie relevante Themen in beeindruckenden Bildern und mit einem aufwendigen Schnitt präsentieren. Dabei setzen wir auf die gründliche und auch investigative Recherche einer Story ebenso wie auf ihre überzeugende dramaturgische und visuelle Umsetzung. Wir sind überzeugt davon, dass auch in Zeiten des Quotendrucks Filme mit journalistischem Anspruch ein großes Publikum finden, wenn sie gut gemacht sind. Das ist unser Ziel, und dafür steht unser Team aus erfahrenen und engagierten Autoren, Regisseuren, Kameraleuten und Cuttern.

Ganz gleich ob es sich um die Alzheimerforschung handelt oder die Suche nach Rohstoffen in der Tiefsee - stets nähern wir uns den Themen aus einer internationalen Perspektive. Wir wollen Horizonte erweitern und kritische Fragen stellen. Uns interessieren neueste wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse genauso wie die dahinter liegenden ökonomischen und politischen Interessen. Organisierte Umweltkriminalität, gigantische Staudammprojekte oder die Klimakatastrophe - Aufklärung über den Zustand unseres Planeten liegt uns am Herzen und noch mehr das Aufzeigen von Wegen aus der Misere. Ob wir den Opfern des Massakers auf dem Tiananmen-Platz in Peking Gehör verschaffen oder den Vertretern einer neuen Friedensbewegung in den USA - wir interessieren uns für die Aufarbeitung der Geschichte wie für überlebenswichtige Zukunftsthemen. Dabei haben wir den Blick für das Außergewöhnliche und Abenteuerliche nicht verloren - ob es sich um die unbekannten Schätze im Ägyptischen Museum von Kairo oder die waghalsigen ersten Raumfahrer handelt. Immer steht der Mensch im Mittelpunkt unserer Filme - mit seinen Ängsten und Hoffnungen, seiner Verantwortung und seinem Erfindungsreichtum, seinen Konflikten und Visionen.

Hauptauftraggeber unserer Fernsehproduktionen sind die öffentlich-rechtlichen Sendeanstalten Deutschlands. In zunehmendem Maße entstehen unsere Filme mit internationalen Sendern und europäischen Förderinstitutionen. Die Themenwahl und Machart unserer Filme spricht ein weltweites Publikum an - alle unsere Dokumentationen werden international vertrieben und auf zahlreichen renommierten Filmfestivals vorgeführt.

Für unsere Arbeit stehen uns drei Schneideräume der Gizmo-Postproduktion zur Verfügung, die sich in unseren Büroräumen befindet. Moderne Kameraausrüstung auf dem neuesten technischen Stand ist für unsere Arbeit ebenso selbstverständlich wie aufwendige Licht- und Gripausstattung (Kameraschienensysteme, Kräne etc) sowie State-of-the-Art-Animationen.

Überblick:

Gegründet im Juli 2005

Geschäftsführer:

Thomas Weidenbach
Sarah Zierul

Unser Team:

Isabelle Albert
Steffen Bohn
Maximilian Dederichs
Michael R. Gärtner
Dr. Rüdiger Heimlich
Meike Hemschemeier
Michael Kern
Huynh-Trang Lam
Dr. Thomas Liesen
Shi Ming
Daniel Münter
Dr. Frank Nischk
Herbert Ostwald
Claudia Ruby
Jan Wilm Schmülling
Marc Schubert
Katja Sträter
Dr. Ismeni Walter
Lars Westermann

Firmensitz:

Köln

Kontakt:

Längengrad Filmproduktion GmbH

Händelstraße 25-29
50674 Köln
T+49(0)221.788767-0
F+49(0)221.788767-20
Info(at)Laengengrad.de